Thursday, November 21, 2013

Seattle-based musician Barbara Trentalange claims Dusty Springfield, Stevie Wonder, Nina Simone as influences on upcoming album.

New video for title track from Martin Feveyear (Brandi Carlile, Mark Lanegan, Jesse Sykes) produced “Same Illusion” streaming now.


Barbara Trentalange as photographed by Kamilla Chaudhery.



“Same Illusion” is the latest single and video from the upcoming album by Trentalange



See the premiere of the “Same Illusion” video by Trentalange via SSG Music

Grab a download of “Same Illusion” via an exclusive premiere at Grungecake


“She could freely break hearts and fill dark, smoky rooms with her confident and alluring songs.” – NPR

’Same Illusion’ is an acknowledgment that reality is just a distortion,” says Seattle’s Barbara Trentalange of the title track from her upcoming new album, out January 28th, 2014. As such, the video for the song (recently premiered via Seattle-based music discovery website SSG Music) was shot in grainy black and white, giving it a dreamlike quality.

“The main characters are mirrors and water. The mirrors are the illusions we create for ourselves and the water is out collective unconscious I'm suggesting we smash the mirrors and jump into the pool,” Trentalange explains.  The clip also showcases the singer's live band: Arthur Roberts (The Posies, Peach) on Guitar, Janice Lee (Seattle Philharmonic) on Piano, Jason Harris-Talley (Modest Mouse) on Bass, and Stuart McLeod (who also plays on the new album) on drums.  As with all previous Trentalange records, Same Illusion was produced by Martin Feveyear (Brandi Carlile, Mark Lanegan, Jessie Sykes), who Trentalange met during her time as a touring member of Crooked Fingers.

“I wanted to draw on my love of soul music and singer-songwriters for this record,” listing Dusty Springfield, Stevie Wonder, Dolly Parton, Lou Reed, Nina Simone, and Bruce Springsteen as artists that influenced the tightly focused album.  “I needed to wait until my daughter was in pre-school before I could concentrate on writing again,” Trentalange says of her new life as both artist and mother. “And once she was in school, I treated making this record like a day job.”

Same Illusion by Trentalange arrives on January 28th, 2014.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Same Illusion
(S/R – Jan. 28th, 2014)

Track Listing:

01. Without Your Love
02. Uh Huh
03. Reconnected (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
04. Lies
05. In Your Grace
06. Same Illusion (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
07. Freedom
08. River Child


Trentalange Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: