Monday, November 18, 2013

Canadian musician Spookey Ruben forms AAA Battery with friends from Chicago, San Francisco. Hear new single now via Exclaim.

Feminist anthem “Jenna” is latest taken from pop group’s “Year of The Woman” debut LP, scheduled for release on December 3rd.


AAA Battery (L-R): Joe Maydak, Spookey Ruben, Fred Jeske.  Photo credit: Maj Smith.



“Jenna” is the latest single from the upcoming AAA Battery debut album Year of The Woman



Check out the premiere of the AAA Battery track “Jenna” via Exclaim now!

AAA Battery is the new pop group led by Canadian pop hero Spookey Ruben on vocals, San Francisco’s Joe Maydak on bass and Chicago’s Fred Jeske on guitar and drums. All have middle names that begin with the letter “A.” The band will release its debut album Year of The Woman on December 3rd, 2013 and now Canada’s national music publication Exclaim has premiered the single “Jenna” via its website here.

Following up the album’s first single “Tea Time” (recently premiered via My Old Kentucky Blog), AAA Battery now presents “Jenna,” a feminist anthem which asks the question “Is social adaptability essential in this day and age?” According to Jeske, “This woman has made a decision to change herself for the sake of the realm, trying to change to fit in, but sacrificing herself on the way. She eventually discovers that the prize is not worth the fight! The consumption of this ‘poison tea’ represents the absorption of the human network’s failures and flaws. All she should have done the entire time was to be herself.”

With its members located throughout North America, AAA Battery’s addictive power pop could only have formed by chance. Maydak and Jeske had been playing together for years and were already fans of Canadian musician and experimental filmmaker, Spookey Ruben when they asked if him to guest of one of their tracks. Ruben, known for his underground classic album Modes of Transportation Vol. 1 (TVT Records) and his more recent collaborations with everyone from Esthero to Ariel Pink, was happy to oblige and ultimately went on to join the band and appear on the entire album.

Year of The Woman by AAA Battery arrives on December 3rd, 2013.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


AAA Battery
Year of The Woman
(Rescord Records – Dec. 3rd, 2013)

Track Listing:

01. Annee De La Femme
02. Jenna (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
03. Ten Steps Back
04. Tea Time (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
05. Hole
06. Velvet Pants
07. Battleford
08. Verbalize Your Head
09. S.P.A.C.E.
10. Robots in the Sun
11. Calling Out
12. And Then

AAA Battery Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: