Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Saxon Shore’s Matthew Warn establishes new DC-based band, Midnight Faces; Debut album arrives June 18th.

Duo’s “Feel This Way” single premieres via Baeble Music; “It’s like Tom Petty fronting The Cure,” says Warn.


Midnight Faces (L-R): Philip Stancil, Matthew Warn. Photo Credit: Jeremy Clem.



“Feel This Way” is the first single from the debut album Fornication by Midnight Faces


Check out the premiere of “Feel This Way” by Midnight Faces via Baeble Music!

Midnight Faces is a new duo of comprised of musicians Matthew Warn and Philip Stancil.  The DC-based duo’s debut single “Feel This Way” makes its premiere via music discovery website Baeble Music today.  The track is part of an album sampler available now that previews the band’s debut album Fornication, scheduled for release on June 18th.

.  “It’s one of the last that we worked on,” Warn says of the song.  “I wasn’t sure how it would fit in with the rest, so I didn’t plan to spend much time on it, but when Phil heard it, the melody for the chorus came to him immediately.”

Barely into his teens, Warn began making music with childhood friend Jonny Pierce (of The Drums), resulting in a full-length album released by Columbia Records.  At age twenty, Warn went on to co-found post-rock instrumental giants Saxon Shore with Josh Tillman (of Fleet Foxes and Father John Misty), releasing three EPs, and two albums produced by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, Tame Impala, Flaming Lips.)

“I had been writing new music during Saxon Shore’s hiatus, with no idea as to where the songs would end up,” Warn says. “Towards the end of 2012, I asked Phil Stancil to take a shot at adding vocals to a couple of the tunes and that’s when things started to fall into place. Our influences seemed so different,” Warn explains. “But that’s what makes us unique. It’s like Tom Petty fronting The Cure.”

Midnight Faces recently completed its debut full-length album Fornication in Los Angeles with producer Jason Martin (The Drums, Cold War Kids, Starflyer 59) and will tour the US, Asia and Europe with a full band upon the release of the record this summer.  Fornication is scheduled for release on June 18th, 2013.

Members of Midnight Faces are available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Midnight Faces
(Broken Factory, June 18th)

Track Listing:

01. Fornication
02. Crowded Halls
03. Holding On
04. Feel This Way (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
05. Give In Give Out
06. Kingdom Come
07. Now I’m Done
08. Identity
09. Turn Back
10. Heartless


Midnight Faces Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: