Monday, October 8, 2012

TKTTSM embraces description of its sound as both “cute and disgusting.” Debut album out next week.

Brooklyn-based duo (name pronounced “tick-uh-tism”) posts “Plastic Fantastic” single for download now.


Johanna Stahley of TKTTSM as photographed by Brittany Sturrett.



“Plastic Fantastic” is the first single from the debut self-titled album by TKTTSM.


Brooklyn-based psychedelic rock duo TKTTSM (an acronym for The Kiss Tried To Smack Me that is pronounced “tick-uh-tism”) is set to release its debut self-titled album on October 16th.  “Plastic Fantastic,” the first single from the album is streaming and available for download now.

The album is already making waves in the radio world. Venerable Fort Collins, Colorado station KCSU anointed the band “cute and disgusting,” a description of TKTTSM’s sound that the duo comprised of Johanna Stahley and Owen O’Mahony embraced.

Chicago’s tastemaking station WXRT also recently posted the song for download, noting a sound “that mixes experimental instrumentals with pop vocals,” and the windy city’s Chicagoist website weighed in with its own take on the track, stating that Stahley’s vocals “cut through the walls of sound and hit you in the face like a knife that's so cold it burns…”

TKTTSM’s does indeed balance the weight of O’Mahony’s instrumentation with Stahley’s skewed pop vocals for a perfect representation of this band’s love of exploration, animals, exercise, and freedom, and their dislike of cops, politicians, financial institutions and any other power hungry villains.

TKTTSM’s debut self-titled album is scheduled for release next Tuesday, October 16th. The album’s first single “Plastic Fantastic” is streaming now.

TKTTSM is available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic to talk to the band or for more information.


(Sumxuni Records)
Out Oct. 16th, 2012

Request: FULL LP

Track Listing:

01. Calisthenics
02. Plastic Fantastic (STREAM | MP3)
03. I Wanted To
04. Edumication
05. Eyeyeye
06. Dear Diary
07. Japanteup
08. Porcupine
09. Focus




Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion


No comments: