Monday, October 1, 2012

NYC-based David Bronson releases his “Story,” a seven-year labor of lost love. Single, video for “Times” out now.

Album is one half of autobiographical, 22-song cycle influenced by George Harrison, David Bowie, Cat Stevens.

David Bronson as photographed by Willie Davis



“Times” is the first single and video from the debut album “Story” by David Bronson.


Seven years ago, NYC-based singer-songwriter David Bronson began work on a 22-song autobiographical breakup record collectively titled The Long Lost Story. The second half of that work, Story, is now available at long last (its prequel The Long Lost will be released in the near future.)

Music blog Higher Plains says that “Times,” the album’s first single, “sets you up for the fantasticalness that is David Bronson” with the Taken By Sound site claiming the album is “one of the most unexpected musical gems that I’ve managed to stumble across this year.”

Sonically, Bronson’s Cat Stevens-esque vocals have a plaintive humility, and an emotionally rich, melodic, resonance. His style as a guitarist stems from an upbringing spent dissecting the spidery playing of Jerry Garcia and the classic rock exoticism of Jimmy Page.

“In middle school, I would pick apart Zeppelin songs start to finish and eventually began improvising over them.” Bronson also became a fan of the sound of the records themselves. “Individual producers became as influential to me as artists,” he says, citing favorite sonic auteurs like Daniel Lanois, Jeff Lynne, Nigel Godrich, Brian Eno, and Phil Spector.

In addition to his solo work, Bronson has composed instrumental, ambient soundscapes for filmmaker Jennifer Elster’s “In The Woods,” the first installment of Elster’s upcoming film series entitled “The Being Experience.” The project is an unflinching look at existence, featuring a cast of actors, thinkers, and musicians including Dave Matthews, Moby, Questlove, Rufus Wainwright, and Yoko Ono among many others.

David Bronson’s Story and the album’s first single and video for “Times” are all available now.  David Bronson is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


David Bronson
(S/R – Out Now)

Track Listing:

01. The Turns
02. Times (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
03. If
04. Easier
05. The Ones
06. Us
07. Momentary
08. Adrift
09. Watch the Sun (October Reprise)
10. Outside
11. Unending (Underture)


David Bronson Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: