Friday, August 9, 2013

Oakland-based duo Steel Cranes gets loud on Ouroboros album out Sept. 24th. “Moving On” single, video out now.

“The slo-mo heaviness of a 2,000-pound pendulum, and a fearless sense of rock ‘n’ roll,” says MTV’s Buzzworthy.


Steel Cranes (L-R): Amanda Schukle, Tracy Shapiro | Photo: Miakoda Collins



“Moving On” is the latest single and video from the debut album Ouroboros by Steel Cranes



Hear “Moving On” by Steel Cranes via Pure Volume and check out the video via AltSounds!

Shot in various locations around Berkeley and Oakland, “Moving On” is the first video from Ouroboros, the upcoming debut album by Steel Cranes. “We love the East Bay,” says guitarist/vocalist Tracy Shapiro. “So, we purposely chose recognizable locations.”

Those familiar with the area will notice an industrial stretch of 2nd St., a piece of the San Francisco Bay Trail that crosses over Highway 80, and a scene set in front of downtown Oakland’s Paramount Theater.  The video kicks off at the Albany Bulb, an odd place on the edge of the Bay where lots of people live in tents among graffiti-covered sculptures, structures, and huts.  This appropriately strange place is where clip’s main character first wakes up and we see her covered in paper scraps.

“They represent the various beliefs she has accumulated that are no longer relevant in helping her move forward,” Shapiro explains.  “She begins a journey toward shedding them, but holds on to the one that’s actually important.”  Shapiro’s bandmate Amanda Schukle (drums) comments about the tune saying, “‘Moving On’ was the Steel Cranes song where I knew that we had found our sound. That nasty bending-note guitar riff intro just kicks it off.”  Shapiro wholeheartedly agrees: “That nasty bendy note makes me happy.  Very happy.”

Ouroboros, produced by the band and engineered by Eli Crews (tUnE-yArDs, Deerhoof), captures the raw energy of Shapiro and Schukle in a way that is rarely heard on records these days.  As Shapiro explains, “It was essential to us that the tension that comes with our live performance be present on the album.”

And it is.

Ouroboros by Steel Cranes is scheduled for release on September 24th, 2013.  The members of Steel Cranes are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Steel Cranes
(S/R – September 24th, 2013)

Track Listing:

1. Anthem
2. Moving On (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
3. Have You Thought of Me
4. Before Dawn
5. One After Another
6. Drowning in the Bathtub
7. Boat Song (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
8. The One
9. I’ve Let Go
10. Farewell


Steel Cranes Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: