Monday, July 1, 2013

Oakland-based female rock duo Steel Cranes brings live performance intensity to debut Ouroboros, out Sept. 24th

Raw energy of first single “Boat Song” captured in one take.  Free download available now via East Bay Express.


Steel Cranes (L-R): Amanda Schukle, Tracy Shapiro | Photo: Russ Wright



“Boat Song” is the first single from the debut album Ouroboros by Steel Cranes



Check out the premiere of “Boat Song” by Steel Cranes exclusively via East Bay Express

“We recorded it in one take,” Steel Cranes drummer Amanda Schukle says of “Boat Song” the first single from Ouroboros, the Oakland duo’s debut album, scheduled for release on September 24th.

The song is a crash course in the Steel Cranes sound and style, which has already been likened to Hole, PJ Harvey and Sleater-Kinney.  “It’s our favorite song to play live,” Schukle explains. “It feels like standing on the edge of a cliff, just on the verge of falling over, but pulling back at the last minute.  It’s a bit of controlled chaos and we never play it the same way twice.”

Produced by the band (which also features vocalist and guitarist, Tracy Shapiro) and engineered by Eli Crews (tUnE-yArDs, Thao and Mirah, Deerhoof), Ouroboros captures the raw energy of Schukle and Shapiro in a way that is rarely heard on records these days. As Shapiro explains, “It was essential to us that the suspense and tension that come with live performance be present on the album.”

And it is.

Ouroboros by Steel Cranes is scheduled for release on September 24th, 2013.  The members of Steel Cranes are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Steel Cranes
(S/R – September 24th, 2013)

Track Listing:

1. Anthem
2. Moving On
3. Have You Thought of Me
4. Before Dawn
5. One After Another
6. Drowning in the Bathtub
7. Boat Song (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
8. The One
9. I’ve Let Go
10. Farewell


Steel Cranes Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: