Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Metal Mother draws inspiration from Druid history, “Lord of The Rings,” and her Celtic ancestry on upcoming “Ionika” album.

Oakland-based Taara Tati dubbed “some sort of neon, acid-drenched wood nymph” by San Francisco Bay Guardian. LP due 4/16.


Taara Tati of Metal Mother. Photo Credit: Leo Volk Matis.



“Prism” is the first single from the upcoming Ionika by Metal Mother


Check out the exclusive premiere of “Prism” by Metal Mother via Black Book!

“Dark, spooky melodies are layered over pulsating, seductive beats while Tati’s voice ties it all together... Definitely captivating.” – BUST 

“I drew much of my inspiration from Druid history and folklore,” says Taara Tati of Metal Mother about Ionika, her sophomore album as Metal Mother, due April 16th on the artist’s own Post Primal label.  “This inspiration was reinforced by my recent travels to the UK, entertainment like ‘Lord of The Rings’ and ‘Game of Thrones,’ and an obsession with my own Celtic ancestry.”  “Prism,” the first official single from Ionika was recently recently premiered and is streaming now via Black Book.

The sounds on Metal Mother’s 2011 debut Bonfire Diaries came together in a way that pleased fans of artists such as Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, and Nine Inch Nails.  That record, along with its mesmerizing video for the single “Shake,” went on to receive numerous press accolades, including a “Best of 2011” designation from the San Francisco Bay Guardian which described Tati as “some sort of neon, acid-drenched wood nymph.” San Francisco-based glossy SOMA described Bonfire Diaries as “full of beautiful, eerie, unfamiliar sounds,” and Performer Magazine gave Metal Mother its cover.

One of the main intentions of Ionika is to get energy up when the songs are performed live,” Tati says of how the new album differs from its predecessor.  Taara Tati of Metal Mother is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Metal Mother
(Post Primal – April 16th, 2013)

Track Listing:

01. Mind_off
02. Windexx’d
03. Prism (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
04. Tactillium
05. Little Ghost
06. Omens
07. Hungers
08. Doomdome
09. Enetar
10. Cardiac Blossom
11. IONA


Metal Mother Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: