Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Brooklyn-based singer-songwriter Linda Draper premieres Nick Drake-inspired “Hollow” single via American Songwriter.

 Following a half-dozen albums (four with cult-icon producer Kramer), Draper gets “back to basics” on upcoming “Edgewise”.


Linda Draper as photographed by Shervin Lainez



“Hollow” is the first single from the upcoming album Edgewise by Linda Draper


Check out the premiere of “Hollow” by Linda Draper via American Songwriter

“When I wrote this song,” Linda Draper reflects on her new single “Hollow,” “I was thinking back to a conversation I overheard on a plane. The woman was talking about her step-son not being committed to any ‘real’ career, and that all he wanted to do was write. She said that he better ‘get it out of his system.’ As I heard this, I thought about another of my inspirations for this song, Nick Drake, and what a dull world this would be if he had been told this and listened.”

“Hollow” is making its premiere via American Songwriter today, and the track will appear on Draper’s upcoming new album Edgewise, scheduled for release on May 21st, 2013.  The album arrives on the heels of a half-dozen Draper albums released throughout the years, including four LPs recorded with legendary cult-icon and music producer Kramer (Ween, Low, Galaxie 500.)

With a substantial catalog to her name, Draper says she is now getting “back to basics” on Edgewise.  “With this album, I feel I’ve come full circle. I feel myself returning to the roots that originally sparked my enthusiasm for music,” Draper explains, referring to her childhood growing up in a musical household with parents and siblings who are all musicians (father Frederick Draper is a classical guitar virtuoso who studied with Andres Segovia.)

In addition to the studio work that resulted in her many album releases, Draper’s musical path led to tours throughout the US and UK where she performed with Regina Spektor, Teddy Thompson, Kimya Dawson, Jesse Malin, and Mike Doughty of Soul Coughing.  “Someone once asked me if music is what I do for a living,” she says. I responded, “No, but it’s what I do for my life.”

Draper gives a peek into the making of Edgewise via a video interview here.  The album is scheduled for release on May 21st, 2013, and its first single “Hollow” is streaming now.  Linda Draper is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Linda Draper Live

05/23 New York, NY @ The Bitter End Record Release Show
05/26 Cambridge, MA @ Club Passim Campfire Festival
06/01 Nashville, TN @ Back Alley Diner 8PM


Linda Draper
(S/R – May 21st, 2013)

Track Listing:

01. Glass Palace
02. Right On Time
03. Hollow (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
04. Edgewise
05. Take It From Me
06. Sleepwalkers
07. Shadow Of A Coal Mine
08. Blackbird
09. Live Wire
10. In Good Hands
11. So Long


Linda Draper Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

1 comment:

PJ-S said...

I find Linda's music--voice, tune, and words--have a haunting lyricism and intimacy that's all too rare these days. It's a real relief from "big" vocals and hype. She connects, somehow: and for me, that is what music is about.