Friday, March 1, 2013

Austin-based physician-turned-singer Candace Bellamy teams with local songwriting legends on debut album, out May 14th.

 Local NPR affiliate KUTX premieres “Put Down The Foot,” the first single from “In My Lane,” as its “Song of The Day.”


Candace Bellamy as photographed by David Heisler



“Put Down The Foot” is the first single from the upcoming album In My Lane by Candace Bellamy



Check out the exclusive premiere of “Put Down The Foot” by Candace Bellamy via Austin’s NPR affiliate KUTX!

Austin-based singer Candace Bellamy has premiered “Put Down The Foot,” the first single from her upcoming debut album In My Lane via Austin public radio station KUTX.  The popular NPR-affiliate has named the track its “Song of The Day” here.

A physician by day and a soul singer by night, Bellamy took up singing as a hobby 10 years ago, paying dues in cover bands, musical theater (her role in an R&B version of “Porgy & Bess” impressed the New York Times), and with a one-woman show where she told stories of her life in between tunes.

Bellamy’s path led to Ruth Carter (composer for Stevie Ray Vaughn, Robert Palmer, and John Mayall), bass playing legend Jimi Calhoun (player with Dr. John, Jimi Hendrix, John Lennon, Wilson Pickett, Sly Stone) and Jake Langley (Roberta Flack, Willie Nelson, k.d. lang), who mentored her, and became her co-writers.

“It was when we got together for the first time to write that I realized the depth of their backgrounds,” Bellamy recalls. “They made me feel comfortable.”

With her debut album set for release on May 14th, and its opening anthem “Put Down The Foot” available now, Bellamy can say she’s a singer just as easily as she can say she’s a doctor. “Several people have asked why I am pursuing music when I already have a good job,” she muses. “The answer is simple – because I love it.”

In My Lane, the debut album from Candace Bellamy, is scheduled for release on May 14th, 2013. The album’s first single “Put Down The Foot” is streaming now. Candace is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Candace Bellamy
In My Lane
(S/R – May 14th, 2013)

Track Listing:

01.   Put Down The Foot (STREAM | MP3)
02.   I Don't Know
03.   Like Honey
04.   Johnny
05.   Expect
06.   Walk Away
07.   Skies Are Grey
08.   Might As Well Be U
09.   Sweet Sweet Soul


Candace Bellamy Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: