Thursday, December 15, 2016

Corner Suns teams up with Sarah Jaffe for new single “The Rattle In The Room,” taken from Dallas-based band’s upcoming debut LP, out Jan. 13th.

First aspiring to sound like Sabbath, duo of John Dufilho (The Apples In Stereo), Brandon Carr (The Earlies) shows baroque pop, psychedelic influences.


Corner Suns (L-R): Brandon Carr, John Dufilho. Photo credit: Jerome Brock.



Hear “The Rattle In The Room” by Corner Suns (feat. Sarah Jaffe)



See the music video for “The Speed of Sound” by Corner Suns


Corner Suns – In The Press

“A steady pulse of paranoia and psychedelia.” – Flood Magazine

“The song is literally about how much fun it is to make music, and you can hear it.” – KUTX / NPR

“Lingers in your mind long after listening.” – Glide

“A glistening psychedelic influence.” – MAGNET


Corner Suns premieres “The Speed of Sound” and chats about cowboy outfits and snap shirts with Impose!


Corner Suns – the Dallas-based duo of ​​John Dufilho (​​The Apples In Stereo, ​​The Deathray Davies) and ​​Brandon Carr (​​The Earlies) – will release its self-titled debut via ​​Idol Records on ​​Jan. 13th, 2017.

The 14-track album combines neo-psyche and baroque pop influences that will grab the attention of fans of artists such as ​​The Zombies, ​​Magnetic Fields, and ​​The Shins, that share a similar ability for sharp songwriting, memorable vocals, and pop hooks.

The album’s latest single “The Rattle In The Room” features Denton, Texas-based singer-songwriter, Sarah Jaffe on vocals. The track was recently premiered as NPR-affiliate KUTX, Austin’s “Song of The Day” here.

“I was going to leave this one off the record, but I changed my mind, or maybe Brandon changed it for me,” says Dufilho of the cut. “I asked Sarah if she'd be up for singing a few songs, and she liked this one. I'm always completely flattered when she's up for singing something I wrote.”

“The Speed of Sound,” another track and music video from the upcoming record, were both recently shared via Impose and The Big Takeover, respectively.

 “I’ve been wanting to play this beat on something for a while now.” Dufilho says about the tune. “This song is mostly about how reality seems to make no sense and we're just watching, confused. It's about the Earth vs. the people on it, and how the Earth will no doubt win.”

“My original idea for this record was for it to be really heavy,” says ​​Dufilho. “I wanted to make something that sounded like Black Sabbath, but I realized that I had no idea how to write songs like that.”

“It’s true, our psychedelic ​​Black Sabbath concept was a misadventure,” ​​Carr jokes. “My voice was still muddled from the years off, but ​​John helped me find it again, and the songs really began to come together.”

The self-titled debut album by Corner Suns arrives on Jan. 13th, 2017 on Idol Records. John Dufilho and Brandon Carr of Corner Suns are available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Corner Suns
Jan 13th, 2017
(Idol Records)

Track Listing:

01. Borrowed Time (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
02. The Speed of Sound (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
03. Sleep
04. Through The Winter
05. Set In Stone
06. Don’t Look Down
07. Trance
08. I’m Not The Only One
09. I Started Something
10. Should’ve Asked Paul
11. The Rattle In The Room (STREAM | MP3)
12. Hey Explorer
13. Pig
14. Another Book


Corner Suns Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: