Monday, July 11, 2016

Straight outta Rahway: J Hacha De Zola enlists Tom Waits collaborators Ralph Carney, David Coulter for inspired new album, arriving Aug. 12th

For his second full-length of 2016, artist travels with “Fat Kat” band to boiler room in Portland, OR to create Beefheart, Barrett, Zappa-inspired freak-out.


J Hacha De Zola as photographed by Miguel Peralta



Hear “Bubble Gum” from the upcoming new album (the second of 2016!) by J Hacha De Zola, out Aug. 12th


“The kind of alluring character found in old children’s books.” – UTNE

J Hacha De Zola has managed to actually “escape from Fat Kat City,” (the title of his early 2016 debut album), leaving Rahway, New Jersey and the shadow of the maximum security prison that literally loomed over him while recording that record, and venturing across the country to a tiny studio built in an old boiler room in Portland, Oregon.

It’s here that he was joined by the rest of the “Fat Kat” band, as well as some legendary players in the form of Ralph Carney and David Coulter, to record Hacha De Zola’s second full-length album of 2016, Picaro Obscuro, arriving on August 12th. The single “Bubble Gum” can be heard now via Northern Transmissions here.

Influences on the sound of Picaro Obscuro according to Hacha De Zola include: Perez Prado, Captain Beefheart, Screaming Jay Hawkins, Danil Kharms, Arthur Rimbaud, Frank Zappa, Tom Waits, Nick Cave, and Syd Barrett.

“He’s like a codeine cough syrup dream on the train to Zurich,” is how legendary sax man Carney describes Hacha De Zola. Carney, who made his bones with Tom Waits, Elvis Costello, The B-52s, They Might Be Giants, and Frank Black (and who is also the uncle of The Black Keys co-founder, Patrick Carney), makes his tenor and baritone horns an omnipresent force on Picaro Obscuro.

Multi-instrumentalist Coulter is everywhere, as well.  Coulter, who has recorded, performed and toured with artists as diverse as Damon Albarn, Jarvis Cocker, Laurie Anderson, Kronos Quartet, Yoko Ono, and Beck among many other notables, shares a common compatriot with Carney in Waits.

Carney performed on the Waits album The Black Rider, a collection of the songs from the theater piece of the same name for which Coulter served as Associate Musical Director.

T​he first single from Picaro Obscuro is “Bubble Gum,” which Hacha De Zola describes as “a song about distractions, escapism, confusion, and detaching from reality in pursuit of confections. The world might be burning while we’re caught up in our trivialities. Ultimately, it’s not a criticism; it’s just an observation, as I’m right in it, too.”

Picaro Obscuro, the second album (and second of 2016) by J Hacha De Zola arrives on August 12th, 2016. Hacha De Zola is available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


J Hacha De Zola
Picaro Obscuro
Aug. 12th, 2016

Track Listing:

01. A Curious Thing
02. Bad Fiction
03. Bubble Gum (STREAM | MP3)
04. In Curtains
05. Falling Out of Chairs
06. Picaro Obscuro
07. Black Water
08. Taking Names
09. On Your Own
10. Dead End Street
11. Tears of Summer


J Hacha De Zola Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: