Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Los Angeles-based visual artist, producer, vocalist Rae Okino announces upcoming release of “sex positive” debut album “Valentine’s Day.”

 Hear “dreamy, synth-drenched banger” single “Game Changer” (featuring Bassnectar, Beats Antique collaborator Lafa Taylor) via Buzzbands.la.


Rae Okino as photographed by Machete Bang Bang



“Game Changer” (feat. Lafa Taylor) is the first single from the debut album Valentine’s Day by Rae Okino


Every day is Valentine’s Day! Rae Okino shares her Valentine’s Day Top 5 via YouTube

“Game Changer,” the lead single from Los Angeles-based Rae Okino’s upcoming debut album Valentine’s Day (announced on last Sunday’s holiday by ear-to-the-ground website Buzzbands.la), is about that “difficult stripping back of the layers” that we experience in relationships, Okino says.

The track, featuring rapper Lafa Taylor (Bassnectar, Beats Antique), and described by writer Kevin Bronson as a “dreamy, synth-drenched banger,” is just one cut that comprises an overall effort by Okino to create what she calls a “sex positive” album.

Valentine’s Day not only touches on love, lust, and the general ins and outs of relationships,” she explains, “but also on the relationship between togetherness and separateness as a means to achieve oneness.”  Okino goes on to sum up the concept of the album by saying that “every day is Valentine’s Day,” and reminding us to “show the people you love why you love them, any chance you get. Why wait for Hallmark to bank on your love for each other?”

In a time where society focuses so much on “followers” and “brands,” Rae Okino aims to build a different kind of utopia. Her belief in true freedom of speech, sexuality, and artistic expression is felt throughout her debut album Valentine’s Day.  Already a seasoned vocalist, Okino is now fully producing her own music and visuals, and is keenly focused on joining like-minded individuals together through art and experience.

Valentine’s Day, the debut album by visual artist, producer, and vocalist Rae Okino arrives on March 23rd, 2016.  The album’s lead single “Game Changer” (feat. Lafa Taylor) is streaming now.  Purchase “Game Changer” and pre-order Valentine’s Day here.

Rae Okino is available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Rae Okino
Valentine’s Day
(S/R – March 23th, 2016)

Track Listing:

01. Game Changer (feat. Lafa Taylor) (STREAM)
02. 100
03. Come Over
04. Not a Transaction
05. Walk Away (feat. Releece)
06. Nights & Mornings
07. Good
08. Kiss You
09. Means Nothing
10. Crushin’
11. Moving On


Rae Okino Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: