Thursday, June 11, 2015

Austin-based trio I Am The Albatross writes about Austin on its upcoming debut album “Lonesome Son,” arriving August 7th.

“The band’s ragged rock is triumphant,’ says NPR-affiliate KUTX in its “Song of The Day” premiere of band’s “Port City.”


I Am The Albatross (L-R): Giuseppe Ponti, Jesse Berkowitz, Marc Henry. Photo Credit: Kimberly Jean.



Hear “Port City,” the first single from the debut album by I Am The Albatross, via KUTX, Austin or at the links below!


‘Port City’ is an ode to the part of I-10 which runs between Texas and Louisiana and passes through the many industrial port cities that lie between Houston and New Orleans,” says vocalist and guitarist Jesse Berkowitz of Austin-based trio I Am The Albatross.

The song, just-premiered by local NPR-affiliate KUTX, Austin (which said “the band’s ragged rock is triumphant”), is taken from I Am The Albatross’s debut album Lonesome Son, scheduled for release on August 7th via Rail Rider Records.  The new record is a natural, but substantial progression from the band’s early-2014 EP, which Ovrld called “Haunting and alien, full of menace and fire.”

“It’s a rock record for sure,” Berkowitz says matter-of-factly of the new group of tunes that mightily show off the influence of Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Kyuss, Tom Waits, Nick Cave, and ClutchBerkowitz’s heavy, blistering guitar work is complemented on the album by the no-nonsense contributions of Giuseppe Ponti on bass and vocals, and Marc Henry on drums.

Berkowitz continues to discuss “Port City,” saying, “The song is about that time spent alone, driving. On long drives it’s easy to get lost in thought and caught in a flood of memories.  Lonesome Son is a record about things ending. It’s about searching, aging, and all the irreparable change that comes with the passage of time. It’s very much inspired by life in Austin.”

Lonesome Son by I Am The Albatross arrives August 7th, 2015 via Rail Rider Records. I Am The Albatross is available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


I Am The Albatross
Lonesome Son
(Rail Rider Records)
August 7th, 2015

Track Listing:

01. Blood Song
02. Port City (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
03. No Man’s Land
04. World of Money
05. Garden
06. The Vine
07. Strange Island
08. Hell America
09. The Weed


I Am The Albatross Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: