Monday, August 18, 2014

Latest single from “music licensing queen” Salme Dahlstrom gets remixed by San Francisco crew SpekrFreks

Hear new take on “Pop Ur Heart Out” via Huffington Post, Original streaming now via Entertainment Weekly


Salme Dahlstrom as photographed by Bryce Prevatte



“Pop Ur Heart Out” is the latest single + remix from Salme Dahlstrom

Hear the original at Entertainment Weekly or the SpekrFreks remix at Huffington Post



“Music licensing queen.” – Wall Street Journal

“Relentlessly hooky and ridiculously accessible.” – Entertainment Weekly

The Wall Street Journal dubbed musician Salme Dahlstrom a “music licensing queen” when, like Moby before her, she managed to license every track from her 2008 album The Acid Cowgirl Audio Trade to various corporations and television programs.

At the time, Dahlstrom, who produces, performs, edits, and mixes all of her tracks herself, was not only just getting noticed, she was just getting started. “C’mon Y’All,” one of catchiest numbers on an album of catchy numbers, climbed Billboard’s Dance Chart and eventually received prominent placements in major ad campaigns for CoverGirl, Suave, and Kellogg’s that ran on primetime network television for months.

While managing what inevitably became a highly successful licensing business, Dahlstrom continued to do the work that got her there, and will now release “Pop Propaganda Volume 2: Retro Funk Soul Junction” on September 16th, 2014.  The new six-song collection is preceded by the single “Pop Ur Heart Out” – streaming now via Entertainment Weekly which calls the song “Relentlessly hooky and ridiculously accessible.”

About “Pop Ur Heart Out,” Dahlstrom says, “I felt like bringing some soul and poetry to the party.  I used organic instruments - piano and acoustic guitar - and mixed them with glitch effects and Kaoss Pad to give it an electronic edge. It's one of my new favorites!”

The first remix available from the collection is the glitchy take by San Francisco-based crew, SpekrFreks ( Consistently found in the Top 10 of Beatport’s Electro and Dubstep charts with their productions, SpekrFreks spend their days providing soundtrack music for Disney, ABC, MTV, and other major networks.

“Pop Propaganda Volume 2: Retro Funk Soul Junction” by Salme Dahlstrom is scheduled for release on September 16th, 2014 via Kontainer Music.  The first single “Pop Ur Heart Out” arrives on August 5th, 2014, accompanied by a trio of remixes of the track by SpekrFreks, DJ Phunkae, and Quadrat Beat on August 26th, 2014.

Salme Dahlstrom is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Salme Dahlstrom
“Pop Propaganda Volume 2: Retro Funk Soul Junction”
(Kontainer Music – Sept. 16th, 2014)

Track Listing:

01. Love+Shine
02. Pop Ur Heart Out (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
03. Superfunky Babes
04. Bodies In Motion
05. Rockin’ On The Spot
06. Barcelona Babe (Bonus Track)
07. Pop Ur Heart Out (SpekrFreks Mix) (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
08. Pop Ur Heart Out (DJ Phunkae Mix)
09. Pop Ur Heart Out (Quadrat Beat Mix)


Salme Dahlstrom Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: