Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Folk singer Linda Draper’s just-released seventh studio album “Edgewise” recalls legends Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez.

Johnny Cash-inspired single “Shadow of a Coal Mine” debuts via Popmatters, vinyl edition of album released today.


Linda Draper as photographed by Shervin Lainez



“Shadow of a Coal Mine” is the latest single and video from Linda Draper’s seventh album Edgewise


Check out the premiere of the latest Linda Draper single “Shadow of a Coal Mine” via Popmatters

Brooklyn-based folk singer Linda Draper released her seventh studio album Edgewise on May 21st and “Shadow of a Coal Mine,” the latest single from the Matt Keating-produced record, has now made its premiere via music discovery website Popmatters.  A music video for the song, shot on the fly in the studio where the album was mastered, has also been posted.

“I've always been fascinated with songs that are written from the perspective of the ‘bad guy,’” says Draper of the song.  Johnny Cash always did this incredibly well, and so when the lyrics started pouring out for this song, I decided to construct the perspective as if the bad guy (or ‘girl,’ as it were) was me.”

Described by American Songwriter as “What great artists sound like when their music is stripped down to its elements,” Draper’s tunes evoke memories of female singer-songwriter legends such as Joni Mitchell and Joan Baez, and Draper’s timeless voice lends itself well to the vinyl edition of Edgewise which just been released by Planting Seeds Records (available here.)

Draper’s distinctive sound was also recently noticed by one of New York radio’s most revered figures; WFUV and SiriusXM DJ Vin Scelsa, who spun a track from Edgewise on his long-running “Idiot’s Delight” program (listen here.)

“With Edgewise, I feel myself returning to the roots that originally sparked my enthusiasm for music,” Draper says, referring to her childhood growing up in a musical household with parents and siblings who are all musicians (father Frederick Draper is a classical guitar virtuoso who studied with Andres Segovia.)

Linda Draper is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Linda Draper
(S/R – Out Now)

Track Listing:

01. Glass Palace
02. Right On Time
03. Hollow (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
04. Edgewise
05. Take It From Me
06. Sleepwalkers
07. Shadow of a Coal Mine (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
08. Blackbird
09. Live Wire
10. In Good Hands
11. So Long


Linda Draper Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: