Monday, May 7, 2012

Starlings, TN references Ryan Adams, Paul Westerberg with new “Looking To Get Laid” single.

Austin band’s “Heartache In 4/4 Time” album of molasses-dark folk is actually its most upbeat.


Starlings, TN (L-R): Steven Stubblefield, Mitchell Vandenburg,
Bryan Robison, Tim Bryan. Photo credit: Jason Flowers.



“(Tonight) I’m Just Looking To Get Laid” is the new single from “Heartache In 4/4 Time” by Starlings, TN



“ adept at songcraft as they are at chilling atmospherics. Stubblefield’s originals prove as varied as they are addictive...” – No Depression

Austin’s Starlings, TN has released the front-porch pick-and-grinner “Tonight I’m Just Looking To Get Laid” as the latest single from its new album Heartache in 4/4 Time, out now on Chicken Ranch Records. Contrary to what some might perceive as the juvenile nature of the song based on its title, the tune is actually indicative of band leader Steve Stubblefield’s personal growth.

“Hearing the Ryan Adams song ‘Hallelujah You’re Gone’ was an epiphany. It made me realize that each and every break-up didn’t have to be a fresh apocalypse, and that breakthrough informs every song on the new record,” Stubblefield says.  “This song starts out like many I’ve written – sad, dark and depressing. But, quickly it takes a turn before the first verse ends.”

Stubblefield concludes, saying, “It’s meant to be tongue and cheek. I knew if the protagonist of the song was the only one ‘lookin’ to get laid,’ it could be offensive. So, like one of my favorite songwriters, Paul Westerberg, I decided to flip it in the last verse much like he did in The Replacements song ‘Achin’ To Be’. At the end, it is the woman in the red dress that is ‘lookin’ to get laid’ and the protagonist is happy to have a free ride.”

Heartache In 4/4 Time by Starlings, TN is out now via the Chicken Ranch Records. Steven Stubblefield is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Starlings, TN
Heartache In 4/4 Time
(Chicken Ranch, Out Now)

Boy Side
01. Too Little Too Late
02. One More Time
03. Wear Your Smile
04. Aragon Mill
05. Firearms and Seeds
06. A Girl From Tchoupitoulas St.

Girl Side
07. Dry County In Hell (STREAM)
08. Daylight Saving
09. Leaving Mississippi
10. (Tonight) I’m Just Lookin’ To Get Laid (STREAM)
11. Suffer No More
12. You Will Heal


Starlings, TN Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: