Thursday, May 10, 2012

Lux reveals video for “The Window” from “We Are Not The Same” debut.

Self-directed clip inspired by duo’s favorite David Lynch, Tim Burton films.


Lux (L-R): Leah Rosen and David Chandler. Photo by The Ripper.



“The Window” by Lux is “…a perfect fit for your summer mix” – KEXP “Song of The Day” (LINK) 


 "...emulating their musical heroes with intoxicating enthusiasm.  It's a total charmer." - Black Book

Seattle-based duo Lux has revealed the video for “The Window” from its debut album We Are Not The Same.

The clip, inspired by Lux’s favorite David Lynch and Tim Burton movies, was initially planned to be fully animated, but now stars the band’s Leah Rosen and David Chandler (Rosen also directed the clip.)  Woody Allen was an inspiration as well.  “The first scene is inspired by ‘Midnight In Paris,’ the latest Woody flick that we watched and loved,” says Rosen.

The video is a visual representation of the abnormal sleep paralysis and hypnogogic hallucinations that afflict Rosen. She explains, “With my disorder, sometimes I'll wake up, but I'll still be physically paralyzed, which causes the hypnotic hallucinations.  These hallucinations usually consist of me trying to turn on the bedroom light or screaming for someone to wake me up. All I want to do is wake up, but I can’t.”

This kind of unique perspective has endeared new fans to Lux since its formation in early 2010. The band’s sound, inspired by some of the most essential artists of the era of indie and underground music (Pavement, The Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth, The Magnetic Fields, The Jesus & Mary Chain, New Order, Blondie), features Rosen and Chandler trading off vocals, guitars, synths and drum programming.

In addition to recent coverage from Black Book and a nod for “The Window” as KEXP’s “Song of The Day,” fans can look for Lux featured in the upcoming June issue of MAGNET magazine.  We Are Not The Same, the debut album by Lux is out now.

Leah Rosen and David Chandler of Lux are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


We Are Not The Same
(S/R – Out Now)

Track Listing:

01. Coroner's Office (STREAM | MP3)
02. Out Of Love
03. The Window (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
04. Valerie, They'll Never Understand
05. Little Cripple
06. X
07. Cerebellar Ataxia
08. Candy Lux
09. Cachexia
10. A Study In Apathy (Drugs, Etc)
11. 1000 Airwaves
12. I'll Try To Ignore The Fact That You're Drowning
13. Blackout


Lux Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: