Monday, January 9, 2012

Seattle-based duo Lux to release debut album “We Are Not The Same” inspired by early indie, underground heroes.

Band counts Pavement, Velvet Underground, Magnetic Fields, Jesus & Mary Chain and more among influences.


Lux (L-R): Leah Rosen and David Chandler. Photo by The Ripper.



“The Window” is the first single from the upcoming debut album “We Are Not The Same” by Lux.


“...filled with synthy goodness, fuzzy guitars, and purty purty duets, making them a band worthy of your attention” – Three Imaginary Girls

The Seattle-based duo Lux will release its debut album We Are Not The Same on April 3rd, 2012. Inspired by some of the most essential artists of the era of indie and underground music (Pavement, The Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth, The Magnetic Fields, The Jesus & Mary Chain, New Order, Blondie), Leah Rosen and David Chandler trade off vocals, guitars, synths and drum programming on the record which they also wrote, recorded and mixed themselves.

The pair originally met via Craigslist in early 2010 and quickly released the digital EP “Disorders” just a scant five months later in July of that year. Inspired by the DIY ethics of their heroes, Rosen and Chandler began to relentlessly promote the songs on the internet, gaining the attention of adventurous foreign blogs in Switzerland, the United Kingdom, France, Sweden, Italy, and Spain.

The songs began to rack up hundreds of plays a day and after setting up a Facebook page, Lux quickly amassed 8500-plus “likes” – an impressive feat for a self-released, self-promoted act that was already doing everything else itself. Lux also printed up a couple hundred copies of “Disorders,” mailed them out themselves to a list of college radio stations, and promptly landed on the playlists of influential stations such as WNYU at New York University and KALX at the University of California at Berkeley.

Lux is still contemplating how it will play live (they never have!) as both Rosen and Chandler are self-confessed control freaks susceptible to the unpredictable nature of the stage. “Really, we just haven’t got around to it yet,” says Chandler. “We were actually offered a tour of Europe, but decided to focus on recording the album instead.” The debut Lux album We Are Not The Same is due for release on April 3rd.

Leah Rosen and David Chandler of Lux are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


We Are Not The Same
(S/R – April 3rd, 2012)

Track Listing:

01. Coroner's Office
02. Out Of Love
03. The Window (STREAM | MP3)
04. Valerie, They'll Never Understand
05. Little Cripple
06. X
07. Cerebellar Ataxia
08. Candy Lux
09. Cachexia
10. A Study In Apathy (Drugs, Etc)
11. 1000 Airwaves
12. I'll Try To Ignore The Fact That You're Drowning
13. Blackout


Lux Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: