Saturday, August 6, 2011

Pikachunes man McDougall turns drumming down time into curiously clever dance debut.

Lead single “Nervous” is statement about indie musicians that’s funny because it’s true.


Pikachunes: New Zealand producer and musician Miles McDougall



“Nervous” is the first single from the debut album by Pikachunes.



“‘Nervous’ has all the flavor of LCD Soundsystem while maintaining a freshness rarely seen in new indie-electronic outfits.” –

The recording of New Zealander Miles McDougall’s debut Pikachunes album came about after he fractured his ulna while skateboarding, an injury that required reconstructive surgery. At the time of the accident, McDougall was midway through his Bachelor of Music, majoring in Jazz performance on drums. His injury left him unable to play and out of frustration, he created Pikachunes, a first person account of moving to a new city and the turmoil of building a name as a new musician.

That turmoil is portrayed with clever levity on the album’s first single “Nervous” where McDougall sings “All you have to do is write a bass line and then everybody wants to know your name.” Producing and performing pulsing electro beats that are both groovy and awash with heavy club thuggery, Pikachunes makes a splash with songs that make you move, think and laugh with their stinging social commentary.

Pikachunes self-titled debut album will be available from Lil’ Chief Records on September 6th, 2011. McDougall will venture to the US for shows in September and October.  See below for dates with more to be announced. Miles McDougall is available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Pikachunes Live

09/07 Brooklyn, NY @ Union Hall w/ Princess Chelsea, Lips, Mighty Moon
09/16 Brooklyn, NY @ XPO 929 w/ Princess Chelsea
09/24 Philadelphia, PA @ The Fire w/ Princess Chelsea
09/30 New York, NY @ Pianos w/ Princess Chelsea
10/07 Brooklyn, NY @ Goodbye Blue Monday w/ Princess Chelsea, Preston Spurlock, Ching Ching


(Lil’ Chief Records – Sept. 6th, 2011)

 Track Listing:

01. Holiday
02. Just A Boy
03. Disco Baby
04. New Fiend
05. Nervous (STREAM | MP3)
06. Tonight
07. Metronome
08. You’re Alright


Pikachunes Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: