Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Tidelands video “Holy Grail” featured by YouTube, Wired; New single “The Ship” now streaming.

Latest from San Fran duo features Magik*Magik Orchestra’s string quartet, brass section, female choir.


Tidelands (L-R): Mie Araki, Gabriel Leis. Photo Credit: Summer Makovkin.



“The Ship” (w/ Magik*Magik Orchestra) is the latest single from If… by Tidelands


The “Holy Grail” video was made from over 1000 watercolors.


The epic animated video for “Holy Grail,” the first single from If…, the upcoming debut album by San Francisco’s Tidelands, was recently featured by YouTube, helping the clip jump some 20,000 views over the weekend.  Built from over 1000 watercolor paintings by its creator Ami Kutata, the video was also featured by venerable tech magazine, Wired.

Now the band is following up “Holy Grail” with a new single, “The Ship” (STREAM | MP3). The song features what bandmates Gabriel Leis and Mie Araki feel is the album’s finest performance by the Magik*Magik Orchestra and its conductor Minna Choi who collaborated with Tidelands on the creation of the If... album.

“This is truly the full orchestra at its finest. String quartet, four-piece brass section, and a three girl choir is just an undeniable force,” Leis says. “A lot of times a recording captures where a song is at the moment you happen to be recording it.  With ‘The Ship’ we recorded a song that felt truly complete in that way.”

Tidelands is the duo of San Francisco’s Gabriel Montana Leis (Guitar, Flugelhorn, Vocals) and Mie Araki (Drums, Keyboards, Vocals) along with the Magik*Magik Orchestra, conductor Minna Choi and Deerhoof engineer Ian Pellicci.

If… will be released on July 26th and Tidelands will perform that evening in San Francisco at Cafe du Nord. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Tidelands – If…
(S/R, July 26th, 2011)

Track Listing:

01. Holy Grail (STREAM | MP3 | VIDEO)
02. Holiday
03. Eyes of God
04. Amulet
05. Letter To A Young Soldier I Love
06. Sixes and Sevens
07. The Ship (STREAM | MP3)
08. In The Wake
09. Marigolds


Tidelands Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: