Sunday, April 24, 2011

Seattle’s Aileen Paron to release album of dark torch songs as Scarlet Season, May 24th.

“The Taxidermist” debut RIYL: Bjork, Tori Amos, Goldfrapp, Bat For Lashes, Depeche Mode.


Aileen Paron of Scarlet Season as photographed by Guy Haycock.



“Horse Fury” is the first single from The Taxidermist by Scarlet Season


Scarlet Season | Upcoming Seattle Shows

05/03 Seattle, WA @ Skylark
Seattle, WA @ White Rabbit Record Release Show


About Scarlet Season

Swirling synths, pretty pianos, nasty bass, and moody electronic elements combine with vocal textures that run the gamut from howling and angry to sweet and seductive on The Taxidermist, the debut album by Seattle’s Scarlet Season.

Scarlet Season is the stage name of Aileen Paron, a self-taught pianist whose desire for autonomy and passion for learning all things musical inspired her to take the DIY approach to recording, programming, and composing. Paron produced The Taxidermist herself with co-production by Matt Frickelton of The Fading Collection.

The resulting sound is a natural for fans of Bjork, Tori Amos, Goldfrapp, Bat For Lashes and Depeche Mode with songs that chronicle themes of anger, loss, betrayal and loneliness. It is material that is admittedly personal and at times uncomfortably so, but Paron believes that pop music needn’t be fluffy.

This song-centric pop-rock approach, infused with dark, cinematic, neo-synth edges and gothic roots is at the core of The Taxidermist and its lead single, “Horse Fury” (MP3). The Taxidermist album art carries this theme as well, with haunting illustrations by Matt Strieby inspired by an actual Parisian taxidermy shop.

Scarlet Season can currently be found performing in Seattle, with plans for a West Coast tour in the works for Fall, 2011. The Taxidermist will be released nationwide on May 24th, 2011.

Aileen Paron of Scarlet Season is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Scarlet Season – The Taxidermist
(Self-Released – 5/24/2011)

Track Listing:

01. Almost But Not Quite
02. Counting Days
03. History of Violence
04. Horse Fury (STREAM | MP3)
05. Suicide Pilot
06. B&D
07. The Taxidermist
08. Something I Can Feel
09. Rewind
10. Ashes


Scarlet Season Links

No comments: