Friday, March 11, 2011

We Were The States shoots video for acoustic version of "Hot Waves" on Nashville streets.

The latest track from band’s new album “Rasa” available to post now. See below for SXSW dates.


We Were The States. Photo Credit: JT Sumner.



“Hot Waves” is the latest single from Rasa by We Were The States


See We Were The States Live at SXSW

Thursday, March 17 at 4PM @ 604 E. 6th St. (above Emos)
Friday, March 18 at 1240PM @ The Eastern (w/Japanther, Turbo Fruits, The Clutters)
Saturday, March 19 at 10PM @ Headhunters (Chicken Ranch SXSW Showcase)


“These guys sounded so good that they cut through the din of South By Southwest from 100 yards away...” – Wired

“We wanted to perform on the streets of Nashville just like so many Nashville musicians before us. We just did the video for fun. We went downtown and did a few takes,” says We Were The States guitarist J Stoyanov.

In anticipation of releasing “Hot Waves,” the latest single from the band’s sophomore album Rasa, We Were The States (minus drummer Tyler Coppage) shot this late night acoustic version of the tune out in public, later editing in split screens for that “Woodstock” documentary effect. The result is a powerful and emotionally raw take on the tune that shows off singer Justin Webb’s distinctive style.

See the “Hot Waves”video here:

We Were The States had nearly completed the recording of its new album Rasa when the Nashville floods came. With two feet of water in the basement of their studio, the band thought the record they had worked on for two years would be indefinitely derailed. Regrouping in Nashville, the Murfreesboro-based five-piece spent long hours on a very limited budget to finish Rasa, which is now out on Austin’s Chicken Ranch label.

We Were The States is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


We Were The States
(Chicken Ranch, Out Now)
Request: FULL LP

Track Listing:

01. Rasa
02. End of Us
03. Gold (MP3)
04. Daft Since ‘77
05. (I’m Not My) 808
06. Don’t Ask Why
07. Paris Green
08. Iris & I
09. Queens
10. I Need A Friend
11. Under The Hand
12. Hot Waves (MP3 | VIDEO)


We Were The States Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion, Inc.

No comments: