Sunday, June 3, 2007

Drummer Ian McCutcheon confirms Mojave3 hiatus. Asserts priority status for new group, The Loose Salute. Debut album Tuned To Love set for release.

As it turns out, The Loose Salute is not an amazing Mojave3 side-project, but just an amazing project in itself. According to a statement by The Loose Salute founder and Mojave3 drummer Ian McCutcheon, “There are no plans what-so-ever to record another Mojave3 record.” McCutcheon went on to assert that his main concern and only musical concern presently is The Loose Salute.

The Loose Salute is essentially a pop group, with both folk and country overtones that draws songwriting influences from the likes of The Byrds, The Beach Boys, The Mamas and The Papas, The Eagles and Leonard Cohen.

“Basically the albums in my parents’ record collection when I was growing up,” McCutcheon laughs.

Some of the more contemporary comparisons include the work of Elliott Smith, The Beachwood Sparks, The Tyde, Wilco, The Shins, Midlake and Dr. Dog.

“You could say The Loose Salute sound borrows from all of these bands,” says McCutcheon.” The vibe is different from Mojave3. We’re more of a pop group. It’s a little more fun in places.”

See for yourself – view the video for Tuned To Love’s “The Mutineer” HERE and download an iPod compatible version at iTunes (LINK).

The English band’s debut album Tuned To Love is a record full of summer sounds and nostalgia. These are songs that make you want to go out, find some friends and dance the night away. The songs are about all the facets of life: falling in and out of love, break-ups, partying, wanderlust, home-cookin’, surfing, travel, fields, beaches, stars and bars.

“The general weight of the world,” explains McCutcheon.

Chicago’s Graveface Records – home to releases by Black Moth Super Rainbow, The Octopus Project and The Appleseed Cast – will release The Loose Salute’s debut album on June 12th, 2007. Tuned To Love was recorded with engineer Gareth Parton (The Beta Band, The Go Team, The Pipettes, Mojave3) and McCutcheon’s school-yard buddy, producer Pritpal Soor.

Tuned To Love Tracklisting:
Stream The Album HERE
01. Death Club
02. Photographs and Tickets
03. From Head To Sandy Toes
04. The Mutineer (MP3 | YOUTUBE | iTUNES)
05. Turn The Radio Up (MP3 | YOUTUBE)
06. Why’d We Fight?
07. Ballad of The Dumb Angel
08. Through The Stratosphere To The Bars
09. Cold Water
10. Tuned To Love
11. Ship On The Ocean

On The Web:

Subscribe to Fanatic:
New Media:

No comments: