Thursday, June 21, 2007

Copperpot, KRS-One, members of Tortoise and other special guests want to know: What're You Looking At?

“...easily stands up to other noted producer discs of late, like Prefuse 73's and RJD2's. – Time Out Chicago

“...the Roc's golden boy [Kanye West] has all the accolades, the Grammys, the sales and the buzz. But there's another beatsmith in the Windy City that hip hop fans should be looking out for...” – Elemental

“Rookie Chicago beatmaker Copperpot puts more bounce in the step of underground rap than it has seen in many a moon. [Four Stars].” – Remix

“With many producer projects still on the way for 2007, it would look to be the year of the beat smith. To even be a face in the crowd would be a compliment, but Copperpot surely stands out.” –

Chicago DJ/producer/multi-instrumentalist Copperpot, aka Daniel Kupyers, is notorious for his stage fright. His condition spawned the name of his newest album WYLA?, an acronym for What're You Looking At? (EV Productions.) WYLA? is Copperpot's second full-length, and the follow up to 2005's Chapter 7. The stage shy artist called upon hip hop peers and legends such as KRS-One, Prince Po and Braintax, to help construct WYLA? and extended unlikely invitations to prog post-rockers like Dan Bitney and Jeff Parker of Tortoise and Matthew Lux of Isotope 217 to help him overcome his fear of being the sole man in the spotlight on the upcoming album.

Copperpot has been producing hip hop since 2000 when he joined The Phonograph Scientists, a Chicago-based turntable crew. ‘Pot went solo in 2005 with his album Chapter 7 and soon after things got hot when The Chicago Reader ran a feature spotlighting his appearances on local projects from artists like Qwaazar (Typical Cats), Iomos Marad (All Natural) and several acclaimed 12” singles featuring local Chicago emcees paired with lyricists from London.

Copperpot will release his sophomore album WYLA? On August 7th, 2007 on the EV Productions label. Check out one of the album's lead tracks “Let It Go” featuring Truth Enola (MP3).

Copperpot Live:
08/08 Chicago, IL Sonotheque

WYLA? Tracklisting:
01. Come Back Home feat. KRS One (MP3)
02. Let It Go feat. Truth Enola (MP3)
03. Demo feat. Braintax
04. I Am A Banana
05. I Put A What feat. Valeska Jakobiwicz
06. Art of Rap ft. Masta Ace & EdoG and members of Tortoise
07. Dem Know feat. KRS One
08. Water The Manatee
09. WYLA? feat. Prince Po
10. Blow feat. Psalm One
11. Dem Know (Club Mix) feat. KRS One and members of Tortoise
12. Do You Really?
13. Modern Vampires feat. Rodney P.
14. Clowning Arounding feat. The Time Bandits

On The Web:

Subscribe to Fanatic:
New Media:


Anonymous said...

sorry to post this in comments, but i couldn't find a contact email...

i've a new remix single:

hope you dig it

Sasha Frere-Jones of "The New Yorker" featured my remixes is his blog:

Anonymous said...

Thats dope to hear anatha Chi-town producer come up, i'm a big fan of chi-town producers like No id, Kanye coz their sound is so different & soulful. Other hot news going on in chi-town is the Yaris dj/sneakerhead battle going down this thurs June 28th at Alhambra Palace with guest judges Dj Clark Kent, Eddie Cruz just to name a few. The best part about it is thats its free if you rsvp on I work with Toyota thats how i know.

XMP said...

definitely the first tracklist I've come across that incorporates both bananas AND manatees (bananatees?)... kudos for that.