Thursday, November 12, 2015

the black watch un-retires, sets release date of Dec. 4th for “Highs & Lows” album, 13th of its 27-year history.

Los Angeles-based pop band’s latest single is likely first ever to reference Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde by name.


the black watch (L-R): Tyson Cornell, Chris Rackard, John Andrew Fredrick, Rick Woodard.  Photo Credit: Steve Keros.



Check out the premiere of “Pershing/Harvard Square” by the black watch via PopMatters or at the links below!


“Should’ve become a household name a long time ago.” – USA Today

“L.A. has not produced a band as capable of both My Bloody Valentine miasma and Nick Drake quietness.” — Andy Gill, Gang of Four

John Andrew Fredrick, a prolific songwriter and author – he has published three comic-literary novels and is about to release a book on the early films of Wes Anderson –  announced that his long-time, critically revered band (referred to as “a national treasure” by LA Weekly), the black watch would tick no more following the release of the band’s Sugarplum Fairy, Sugarplum Fairy album in early 2015.

As it turns out, this retirement has lasted less than a year.

Set for release on December 4th, Highs & Lows is the band’s 13th release in 27 years and is one of its best. An early review from the venerable magazine The Big Takeover calls the album “high art,” and notes that Fredrick “plies the refined, crafted spaces of post-Velvets pop like Go-Betweens/Orange Juice/Smiths/c86.”

Produced by Rob Campanella of Brian Jonestown Massacre, the first single from Highs & Lows is “Pershing/Harvard Square,” which Frederick believes to be the first song to ever mention Pretenders frontwoman Chrissie Hynde by name.

“I jotted down the whole thing early one morning after coffee,” he says.” I often think about the sort of person you meet in Los Angeles who, as the line in the song goes, thinks they’re Chrissie Hynde or something just because they ‘say strange things’ to people, at parties or wherever.”

Highs & Lows, the latest album from the black watch, arrives on December 4th, 2015 via Pop Culture Press RecordsJohn Andrew Fredrick is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


the black watch
Highs & Lows
(Pop Culture Press Records)
Dec. 4th, 2015

Track Listing:

01. Beautiful Sleeper (VIDEO)
02. Quondam Redhead
03. Pershing/Harvard Square (STREAM | MP3)
04. There’s No Fucking Way
05. A Sort of An Overture
06. Love’s Fever Dreams
07. She’s A Mess
08. If Upon A Time That Never Happened
09. He Must Needs Go That The Devil Drives
10. Eleanor’s Not Hiding


the black watch Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: