Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Faris McReynolds of One Finger Riot mimics sound of Dad’s stereo on new album “The Sea,” out July 22.

Los Angeles-based artist’s “Give Me A Drug That Works Forever” streaming now via Groundsounds.


Faris McReynolds of One Finger Riot as photographed by Andre Vippolis



 “Give Me A Drug That Works Forever” is the latest single by One Finger Riot. Hear it via Groundsounds or the links below!


“Complex and dreamlike” –USA Today

“It’s not a concept album or anything,” Los Angeles-based musician and painter Faris McReynolds says of The Sea, his latest album as the one-man band, One Finger Riot. “But there’s definitely a Side One and a Side Two, because the first half is angst, and the second half is acceptance,” he explains of the record, arriving July 22nd.

The Sea documents the end of a very long relationship, and is the first One Finger Riot full-length since a slew of releases by McReynolds in 2012, which included two from One Finger Riot and second pair from his now-shuttered ExDetectives moniker.  A prolific creative, all of this musical work is in addition to McReynolds’ “day job” as a gallery-backed painter (see his work here.)

“I feel like it’s a song that would kick a lot of people out of a crowded room and leave behind the interesting ones,” McReynolds says of “Give Me A Drug Works Forever,” the lead track and first single from The Sea, which recently made its premiere via music discover website, Groundsounds.

Of the album’s overall sonics, which he curiously describes as “punk-simple, but not punk-modulated,” McReynolds explains, “There’s a guy in the outskirts of L.A. who built me a lot of inexpensive, simple, gear to get the sounds I am after. I rely on cheap random gear from the past or one-off devices.  A lot of Radio Shack and re-purposed pre-amps.”

One of the sounds prevalent throughout The Sea is the dry fuzz guitar tone that McReynolds says is meant to mimic “the sound my Dad’s stereo made when I would plug my bass into the mic input as a kid.”  It’s a description that calls back to the sense of discovery and fresh perspective that permeates the entire album.

“This is the first record I’ve seen all the way through by myself, and I think the first that sounds like it,” McReynolds affirms. “It sounds like my previous records, but rolled into something more coherent and upright.”

Faris McReynolds of One Finger Riot is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


One Finger Riot
The Sea
(Post Planetary – July 22nd, 2014)

Track Listing:

01. Give Me A Drug That Works Forever (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
02. The Sea
03. Epic Dream
04. I’m Another You
05. Flame In The Big Dark
06. All We Are Is All
07. The Hardest Part of Love
08. I’m Still You
09. The Waking Lost
10. Wanting Breaks My Heart


One Finger Riot Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: