Thursday, May 22, 2014

Redvers front man Justin Gill arrives in US from Australia to record next album, Set to perform live tonight in L.A.

Prolific songwriter already sitting for second album sessions on eve of debut “Truth In Silence” release, out June 3rd. 


Justin Gill of Redvers as photographed by Sumi Saini


See the premiere of “Impressions” by Redvers courtesy of Exclaim!



“Impressions” is the latest single from the upcoming Truth In Silence by Redvers



See Redvers in a rare U.S. appearance live in Los Angeles TONIGHT at the Room 5 Lounge at 7PM.  More details here.


RIYL: Pink Floyd – “Goodbye Blue Sky,” Beck – “Guess I’m Doing Fine,” Iron & Wine – “Naked As We Came”

Recorded in one sitting at San Francisco’s Tiny Telephone, Truth In Silence, the debut album from Justin Gill, the Australian songwriter behind Redvers, arrives June 3rd.  A prolific artist, Gill is already returning to the studio, having arrived back in the U.S. as of this week to record a follow-up.  And if he wasn’t keeping himself busy enough, Gill will take time out to perform a solo set tonight in Los Angeles at the Room 5 Lounge. More details here.

“I’m not a fan of traditional love songs,” Gill says, discussing “Impressions,” the latest single from Truth In Silence which is now streaming via the website for Canada’s largest music paper Exclaim! “They seem to tackle the egotistical notion of human love rather than love as a universal expression.”  This notion explains how “Impressions” started off as a song about a girl that Gill dated, but in his words, “turned into something completely different.”

Of the last-minute moments of creativity leading to the marathon sessions for Truth In Silence, Gill says, “I only had the morning to complete some crucial lyrics, but they seemed to come quick in an old Mission District diner the morning of recording.”

Redvers arrives onto the music scene at a time when the world needs more heart and less noise, and Gill delivers this between the notes of the undulating rhythms and unassuming, visceral prose of this collection of personal songs.  The sound of the album couples the quiet inspiration and literary backdrop of Gill’s majestic Blue Mountain hometown and the realization of his dream of recording in America.

“I was enraptured at the sense of freedom as I boarded the plane,” he remembers of his trip to San Francisco to make the album. “I was off to capture a special moment in time.”  Truth In Silence was produced by Ian Pellicci (Deerhoof, John Vanderslice, Wooden Wand) who captured the entire album in a single day.

“I was stunned how quickly it happened, but it just poured out,” Gill says. “We had so much time left, it allowed me to experiment a little,” he explains of the scenario that led to Magik*Magik Orchestra cellist Michelle Kwon’s appearance on the recordings.

Truth In Silence arrives on June 3rd.  The album’s first single “Laughing At Rainbows” is streaming now courtesy of The 405 and the “Laughing At Rainbows” video can be seen courtesy of Performer Magazine.

Justin Gill of Redvers is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Truth In Silence
(S/R, June 3rd, 2014)

01.  Dawn Interlude
02.  Impressions (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
03.  Homeless
04.  (Reprise)
05.  Cycle Of Welcome
06.  Laughing At Rainbows (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
07.  Golden Anguish
08.  Violence, Windows And The Moon
09.  Time Dilation


Redvers Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: