Tuesday, November 26, 2013

It’s in the blood: Hear the meticulous song construction of Mount Pressmore, led by son of 14-time Grammy-winning conductor.

Austin-based band’s idiosyncratic jazz-rock brings to mind Steely Dan, Talking Heads, Peter Gabriel.  Listen now via Relix, Blurt.


Mount Pressmore (L-R): Kris Studebaker, Danny Anderson, Thomas Shaw, Alexei Sefchick. Photo by: Vanessa Reiser Shaw.


Check out the premiere of “Dry Land” by Mount Pressmore exclusively via Relix!

Check out the premiere of “Trampoline” by Mount Pressmore exclusively via BLURT!



“Trampoline” is the latest single from the upcoming debut Enjoy by Mount Pressmore



Mount Pressmore is currently in post-production on the music video for “Trampoline” starring this guy!

“This is as close as we get to a pop song,” says Thomas Shaw of the Austin-based band Mount Pressmore of the band’s tune “Trampoline.”  The song recalls Talking Heads and Peter Gabriel’s more intricate moments, and is a fine example of Shaw’s musical pedigree, raised as he was amid technical exercises, music theory, and classical recitals.

“Music was his religion,” Shaw says of his father Robert Shaw, a famed conductor with 14 Grammy awards to his name. “His obsessions were Bach’s ‘Mass in B minor,’ Mozart’s ‘Requiem,’ and Beethoven’s ‘Missa Solemnis.’  This was the music I heard most frequently as a child.  Then I heard Oscar Peterson and I was blown away,” Shaw recalls of the development of his own obsessions. “Then I listened to B.B. King, James Brown, Led Zeppelin, and Fela Kuti.”

Relocating to Austin after school, Shaw formed Mount Pressmore in late 2011 with drummer and fellow New York Collective School of Music classmate, Kris Studebaker. Bassist Alexei Sefchick and guitarist Danny Anderson, both graduates of Boston’s Berklee School of Music, complete the quartet.

Owing to the deep history, education, and influences of its players, Mount Pressmore’s music is a technical revelation.  Its music straddles the jazz-rock line with a level of proficiency that brings to mind an indie-rock Steely Dan on the debut album Enjoy, scheduled for release on Mount Pressmore’s own Pressmore Records on December 3rd , 2013.

Thomas Shaw of Mount Pressmore is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Austin!  See the Mount Pressmore record release show at The Parish Underground on Sat., Dec. 7th!


Mount Pressmore
(Pressmore Records, Dec. 3rd, 2013)

01. Here We Go
02. The New Regional Branch Manager
03. Dry Land (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
04. Trampoline (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)
05. A Place in the Sun
06. Vice-Presidential Material
07. Interchange
08. Dawn, Bingham
09. Agnostic
10. Dakota


Mount Pressmore Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: