Friday, October 11, 2013

Canadian pop hero Spookey Ruben teams up with Chicago, San Francisco-based friends to form AAA Battery band.

“Year of The Woman” debut LP spawns “softcore Porno For Pyros” single, streaming now via My Old Kentucky Blog.


AAA Battery (L-R): Spookey Ruben, Fred Jeske, Joe Maydak.  Photo credit: Maj Smith.



“Tea Time” is the first single and video from the upcoming AAA Battery debut album Year of The Woman


Grab a download of “Tea Time” via an exclusive premiere at My Old Kentucky Blog

AAA Battery is the new pop group comprised of Joe Maydak on bass, Fred Jeske on guitar and drums, and Canadian pop hero Spookey Ruben on vocals. All have middle names that begin with the letter “A.”

This long distance relationship of a band – Maydak is based in San Francisco, Jeske in Chicago, and Ruben in Toronto – formed by chance.  Maydak and Jeske had been playing together for years and were already fans of Canadian musician and experimental filmmaker, Spookey Ruben, starting with his underground classic album Modes of Transportation Vol. 1 (TVT Records), through his continuous releases and more recent musical collaborations and film work with everyone from Esthero to Ariel Pink.

As Maydak and Jeske began assembling a new group of recordings, they approached Ruben about appearing on one of them, and ultimately got more than they asked for.  As Ruben remembers, “After hearing the tracks, I thought ‘How about I sing on all of them?’” AAA Battery was born, and now the trio’s debut album Year of The Woman is scheduled for release on December 3rd, 2013.  The record brings together the multitude of tastes, attitudes, and locations that makes this trio of experienced musicians unique and exciting.

Quirky, even as artists go, Ruben deftly describes the album’s first single “Tea Time” as “Softcore Porno For Pyros.  L’eggs Benedict. Boing Me Up, Scotty. Maniac Mansion. Back Alley Beer Tank. Group Hug. Shoulder Kiss Blackout. Psychedelic Fungus Among Us. Rusty Leaves, Branches, Twigs. Jug of Iced Tea. Tenderloin VHS Tape.”   Give a listen and Ruben’s take on the track makes perfect sense.

Year of The Woman by AAA Battery arrives on December 3rd, 2013.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


AAA Battery
Year of The Woman
(Rescord Records – Dec. 3rd, 2013)

Track Listing:

01. Annee De La Femme
02. Jenna
03. Ten Steps Back
04. Tea Time (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | VIDEO)
05. Hole
06. Velvet Pants
07. Battleford
08. Verbalize Your Head
09. S.P.A.C.E.
10. Robots in the Sun
11. Calling Out
12. And Then


AAA Battery Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: