Monday, August 12, 2013

Veteran Los Angeles-based indie-poppers The Black Watch return with “The End of When,” the band's first studio album in three years.

Called “a national treasure” by L.A. Weekly, band’s latest arrives Sept. 10th.  Hear catchy new single “Meg” via The A.V. Club now.


The Black Watch (clockwise from upper left): John Andrew Fredrick, Steven Schayer, Rick Woodard, Chris Rackard. Photo Credit: Steve Keros.



“Meg” is the first single from The End of When by The Black Watch!


Check out the premiere of “Meg” by The Black Watch via The A.V. Club!


“L.A. has not produced a band as capable of both My Bloody Valentine miasma and Nick Drake quietness.” — Andy Gill, Gang of Four

Referred to as “a national treasure” by the L.A. Weekly, the Los Angeles-based veteran indie pop band The Black Watch formed in the late 1980’s and has released “17-and-counting CDs of remarkable consistency” in that time, according to the paper.  With all of that work and time behind frontman, John Andrew Frederick, the songwriter might have decided by now to spend a bit more time playing ping-pong or with his set of official Andy Partridge toy soldiers.  Not so.

After a relatively short three-year break between albums, The Black Watch (now featuring ex-The Chills member, Steven Schayer) returns on September 10th with a new release The End of When, accompanied by a second CD collecting some of the band’s best and brightest tunes from its catalog.

The lead single from the new album is “Meg,” (streaming now via The A.V. Club) which Frederick describes as “revolving around the singer’s appreciation of a woman’s uniqueness and beauty and how he goes all ‘ice cream inside’ when he thinks of her looking at him ‘green-eyed-shyly’ through ‘imperfect bangs.’”

The End of When is the first release for Austin’s Pop Culture Press Records, an offshoot of the well-respected indie zine of the same name. Members of The Black Watch are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information, guest list needs, etc.


The Black Watch
The End of When
(Pop Culture Press, Sept. 10th)

Disc 1 (The End of When)

01. I Don't Feel The Same
03. Hardly Nothing Never Ending
04. Oh Oh
05. Sum
06. Always Honey
07. The End of When
08. Of Lovely Surprises
09. The Spare Side
10. A Pleasing Dream / That's You and Me All Over
11. Unlistening

Disc 2 (Best of Collection)

01. How Much About Love
02. Emily, Are You Sleeping?
03. Like In The Movies
04. Kinda Sorta
05. On Another Plane (Scott Campbell Remix)
06. Come Inside
07. Quasi Stellar Radio Source
08. Williamsburg
09. Innercity Garden
10. All These Shivers
11. Tear The Sky
12. The Wrong People
13. Caroline
14. Christopher Smart
15. Whatever You Need
16. The Tennis Playing Poet Roethke Said


The Black Watch Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: