Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Saxon Shore founder’s new duo Midnight Faces prepares debut album “Fornication” for June 18th release.

Earmilk premieres “dark, frigid” Certain Creatures Black Heart Mix of DC band’s “Feel This Way” single.


Midnight Faces (L-R): Philip Stancil, Matthew Warn. Photo Credit: Jeremy Clem.



Check out the “Feel This Way” (Certain Creatures Black Heart Mix) by Midnight Faces


Check out the premiere of the Certain Creatures “Feel This Way” (Black Heart Mix) via Earmilk

Check out the premiere of the album version of “Feel This Way” by Midnight Faces via Baeble Music


“I had been writing new music during Saxon Shore’s hiatus, with no idea as to where the songs would end up,” says Matthew Warn of Midnight Faces.  Barely into his teens, Warn began making music with childhood friend Jonny Pierce (of The Drums), resulting in a full-length album released by Columbia Records.  At age twenty, Warn went on to co-found post-rock instrumental giants Saxon Shore with Josh Tillman (of Fleet Foxes and Father John Misty), releasing three EPs, and two albums produced by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, Tame Impala, Flaming Lips.)

With Saxon Shore on hiatus, towards the end of 2012, Warn asked future Midnight Faces bandmate Philip Stancil to take a shot at adding vocals to a couple of his new tunes.  “That’s when things started to fall into place,” Warn explains. “Our influences seemed so different, but that’s what makes us unique. It’s like Tom Petty fronting The Cure.”

The DC-based duo’s debut single “Feel This Way” made its premiere recently via music discovery website Baeble Music, and the Certain Creatures remix of the song has now premiered via Earmilk.  “I connected with ‘Feel This Way’ because of the dark, struggling heart being poured out in the lyrics,” says Oliver Chapoy, the man behind Certain Creatures.  “I thought it would be interesting to take the song into a darker, frigid, sonic landscape.”

Midnight Faces recently completed its debut full-length album Fornication in Los Angeles with producer Jason Martin (The Drums, Cold War Kids, Starflyer 59) and will tour the US, Asia and Europe with a full band upon the release of the record this summer.  Fornication is scheduled for release on June 18th, 2013.

Members of Midnight Faces are available for interviews. Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Midnight Faces
(Broken Factory, June 18th)

Track Listing:

01. Fornication
02. Crowded Halls
03. Holding On
04. Feel This Way (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3 | REMIX)
05. Give In Give Out
06. Kingdom Come
07. Now I’m Done
08. Identity
09. Turn Back
10. Heartless


Midnight Faces Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: