Monday, March 12, 2012

Cotton Mather announces South By Southwest reunion shows in support of re-issue of influential “Kontiki” album.

Record lands at #2 on NME’s “100 Great Albums You Never Heard”; “All Things Considered” feature airs Tuesday.


Cotton Mather (L-R): Whit Williams, Robert Harrison, Dana Myzer. Photo by: Bruce Dye.



Check out “Camp Hill Rail Operator” and “My Before and After” from “Kontiki” by Cotton Mather




Cotton Mather Live at SXSW

03/13 Austin, TX @ Beauty Bar (617 E. 7th) Fanatic Presents: Art Disaster at SXSW 2012, 12AM
03/14 Austin, TX @ The Four Seasons Hotel (98 San Jacinto Blvd.) KUT Presents, 10AM
03/14 Austin, TX @ Gingerman Pub (301 Lavaca St.) SXSW 2012, Blurt Magazine Party, 5PM
03/16 Austin, TX @ The Dogwood (715 W 6th St.) Sweet Tea Pumpkin Pie Showcase, 530PM
03/17 Austin, TX @ Soho Lounge (217 E. 6th St.) SXSW 2012, Official Showcase, 9PM


Kontiki proves itself one of the very best albums ever to come out of Austin.” – Austin Chronicle

“I fucking wish it was ours! I play it all day at home.” – Liam Gallager of Oasis

Kontiki gave me something to shoot for.” – Britt Daniel of Spoon


Austin, Texas-based band Cotton Mather will re-unite at South By Southwest this week for several shows in celebration of the deluxe re-issue of the band’s influential 1997 album Kontiki, starting with a headlining spot at the yearly Art Disaster event at Beauty Bar on Tuesday, March 13th.

The all-knowing UK music paper NME recently named Kontiki as #2 on it’s list of “100 Great Albums You Never Heard,” NPR’s “All Things Considered” will air a story on Tuesday all about the history of the influential album and Cotton Mather was also recently featured in the Austin Chronicle on the occasion of Kontiki’s Valentine’s Day re-release alongside a perfect five-star review from the paper.

All of this hubbub for a record that while termed a reissue, is actually thought of by band leader Robert Harrison as being issued for the first time. “People have certain assumptions when they hear ‘re-release,’” says Harrison. “But, if our US label at the time only printed two thousand copies and sent it to rarified writers and overseas, was it ever released in the US at all?”

While the record was never given much of a chance commercially in America, in the UK the album was an instant smash in the press, earning raves from Mojo, Uncut and The Guardian upon its European release. When Noel and Liam Gallagher of Oasis discovered the record, they talked about it in interviews, and ultimately invited Cotton Mather on tour.

Now US critics and rock luminaries will have the chance to dig into the pure pop that is Kontiki. Moreover, the new spotlight on the album will give new fans the chance to embrace it in the way that Harrison embraced creating it.  “We were a band operating with a punk rock ethos that eschewed music industry convention and embraced the garage as laboratory in the age before Pro-Tools. The headlines in Europe at the time were all ‘Holy shit! It’s four-track cassette?’”

Robert Harrison of Cotton Mather is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Cotton Mather
Kontiki (Deluxe Edition)
(The Star Apple Kingdom – Out Now)

Track Listing:

Disc 1:

01. Camp Hill Rail Operator (STREAM)
02. Homefront Cameo
03. Spin My Wheels
04. My Before and After (STREAM | MP3)
05. Private Ruth
06. Vegetable Row
07. Aurora Bori Alice
08. Church of Wilson
09. Lily Dreams On
10. Password
11. Animal Show Drinking Song
12. Prophecy For the Golden Age
13. She’s Only Cool
14. Autumn’s Birds

Disc 2:

01. Homefront Cameo (4-Track)
02. Pine Box Builder #1
03. Camp Hill Rail Operator (Acoustic) (STREAM)
04. Little Star
05. Baby Freeze Queen #1
06. Altar Boy (Live at The Hit Shack)
07. Flying Annie’s Kite
08. Innocent Street (Acoustic)
09. Spin My Wheels (Electric)
10. Church of Wilson (4-Track)
11. Private Ruth (Acoustic)
12. The Gold Gone Days


Cotton Mather Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: