Monday, February 6, 2012

Seattle band Lux unveils its version of Black Tambourine’s “Black Car” via Cover Me.

Cover of influential twee-pop band’s tune to appear as hidden track on duo’s debut album.


Lux (L-R): Leah Rosen and David Chandler. Photo by The Ripper.



“The Window” is the first single from the upcoming debut album “We Are Not The Same” by Lux



Lux Digs Deep into Indie with Dream-Grunge Black Tambourine Cover (Cover Me Premiere)



“...filled with synthy goodness, fuzzy guitars, and purty purty duets, making them a band worthy of your attention” – Three Imaginary Girls

The Seattle-based duo Lux counts Velvet Underground, Magnetic Fields and Jesus & Mary Chain among its significant influences.  Lesser names have impressed the band as well, including influential late-80’s / early-90’s twee-pop band, Black Tambourine.   Lux was inspired to include a cover version of that band’s song “Black Car” as a hidden track on its upcoming album We Are Not The Same (out April 3rd, 2012) and fans of both bands can hear the song now via popular cover song website Cover Me.  Click here to check it out now.

Inspired by some of the most essential artists of the indie and underground era, Leah Rosen and David Chandler trade off vocals, guitars, synths and drum programming on We Are Not The Same which they also wrote, recorded and mixed themselves. The pair originally met via Craigslist in early 2010 and quickly released the digital EP “Disorders” just a scant five months later in July of that year. Inspired by the DIY ethics of their heroes, Rosen and Chandler began to relentlessly promote the songs on the internet, gaining the attention of adventurous foreign blogs in Switzerland, the United Kingdom, France, Sweden, Italy, and Spain.

As the tracks began to rack up hundreds of plays a day, Lux quickly amassed 8500-plus Facebook “likes” – an impressive feat for a self-released, self-promoted act that was already doing everything else itself. Lux also printed up a couple hundred copies of “Disorders,” mailed them out themselves to a list of college radio stations, and promptly landed on the playlists of influential stations such as WNYU at New York University and KALX at the University of California at Berkeley.

Lux is still contemplating how it will play live (they never have!) as both Rosen and Chandler are self-confessed control freaks susceptible to the unpredictable nature of the stage. “Really, we just haven’t got around to it yet,” says Chandler. “We were actually offered a tour of Europe, but decided to focus on recording the album instead.” The debut Lux album We Are Not The Same is due for release on April 3rd. The album’s first single “The Window” is streaming and available for download now.

Leah Rosen and David Chandler of Lux are available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


We Are Not The Same
(S/R – April 3rd, 2012)

Track Listing:

01. Coroner's Office
02. Out Of Love
03. The Window (STREAM | MP3)
04. Valerie, They'll Never Understand
05. Little Cripple
06. X
07. Cerebellar Ataxia
08. Candy Lux
09. Cachexia
10. A Study In Apathy (Drugs, Etc)
11. 1000 Airwaves
12. I'll Try To Ignore The Fact That You're Drowning
13. Blackout


Lux Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

1 comment:

Blogger said...

If you're searching for the best bitcoin exchange company, then you should use Coinbase.