Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Dylan Champagne shares story of growing up in physical isolation on new “Greenfield Manifesto” single.

Oakland musician details apocalyptic dreams, childhood without paved roads or electricity on “Love Songs.”


Dylan Champagne as photographed by Michael Rauner.



Greenfield Manifesto” is the latest single from Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1 by Dylan Champagne



“Whole generations of teen poets have tried to attain the degree of palpable angst that's balled into the opening track of Dylan Champagne's new album.” – East Bay Express

Greenfield Manifesto’ (STREAM | MP3) is a real life allegory about the loss of innocence,” Dylan Champagne (his real name) explains about his latest single. “It would be easy to imagine that the details in this song were apocryphal but it's all true to the best of my memory.”

When Champagne was seven-years-old, he lived on a 50-acre ranch in the Northern California mountains with no electricity. “Our nearest neighbor was over a mile away. There were no paved roads. My two best friends were named Leaf and Forest. I had a horse. And there really was a unicorn farm on the ridge.”

Champagne’s latest album Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1, the follow-up to 2008’s New Equation puts a strong emphasis on lyrics and unconventional composition mixing Math Rock, Punk, Folk, and Pop to create a syncopated rock tincture with narrative underpinnings.

“I suppose the reoccurring apocalyptic dreams began when I was about nine-years-old. It was the 80’s and Reagan was the king, and everywhere you looked was nuclear this, that and the other,” Champagne says of the content on new album. “It’s a shout-out to all the ghosts haunting the mid-sized semi-urban dystopia in my head. The characters are real.”

Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 is out now.  Champagne hopes to make a volume 2 and a volume 5 and a volume 20 before the world spontaneously combusts. Those with an eagle eye will notice that the album’s cover art is a riff on that of this Johnny Mathis classic.

Dylan Champagne is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Dylan Champagne
Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1
(Broke In Oakland, Out Now)

Track Listing:

01. Baby In A Bear Suit
02. Dealt
03. The Daily Albatross
04. California Song (MP3)
05. Finally Ready
06. Empty Notebooks
07. The Ballad of J. Flato
08. Forester Pass In Chinatown Slippers
09. Row Homes In The Desert
10. Greenfield Manifesto (STREAM | MP3)
11. The Short Goodbye


Dylan Champagne Links


Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic Promotion

No comments: