Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Dylan Champagne’s unconventional composition combines Math Rock, Punk, Folk and Pop on new CD.

Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 follows-up 2008’s “New Equation.” “California Song” out now.

Dylan Champagne as photographed by Michael Rauner.



California Song” is the first single from Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1 by Dylan Champagne


About Dylan Champagne

Dylan Champagne (his real name) will release Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1, the follow-up to his 2008 album New Equation on May 17th.  Champagne’s music puts a strong emphasis on lyrics and unconventional composition. His latest endeavor Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 mixes Math Rock, Punk, Folk, and Pop to create a syncopated rock tincture with narrative underpinnings.

Of the content on new album, Champagne says, “I suppose the reoccurring apocalyptic dreams began when I was about nine-years-old. It was the 80’s and Reagan was the king, and everywhere you looked was nuclear this, that and the other. Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 is a shout-out to all the ghosts haunting the mid-sized semi-urban dystopia in my head. The characters are real but some of the details get squishy.”

Currently residing in Oakland, California with his partner, the poet Alexandra Teague, Champagne recorded most of Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 in town at New Improved Recording with Eli Crews. The rest was tracked in Champagne’s basement studio and in an old soup warehouse in Fayetteville, Arkansas during Champagne’s short residence there.

Love Songs of the Apocalypse, Volume 1 will be released on May 17th, 2011.  Champagne hopes to make a Volume 2 and a Volume 5 and a Volume 20 before the world spontaneously combusts. Those with an eagle eye will notice that the album’s cover art is a riff on that of this Johnny Mathis classic.

Dylan Champagne is available for interviews.  Contact Josh Bloom at Fanatic for more information.


Dylan Champagne
Love Songs of The Apocalypse, Volume 1
(Broke In Oakland, 5/17/2011)

Track Listing:

01. Baby In A Bear Suit
02. Dealt
03. The Daily Albatross
04. California Song (MP3)
05. Finally Ready
06. Empty Notebooks
07. The Ballad of J. Flato
08. Forester Pass In Chinatown Slippers
09. Row Homes In The Desert
10. Greenfield Manifesto
11. The Short Goodbye


Dylan Champagne Links

No comments: